Crowder ‘Neon Steeple’

Site Score
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
User Score
(0 votes)
Click to vote

Only David Crowder can create a unique and cohesive style, combining country rock, dance, folk, bluegrass and modern worship. Crowder’s new solo album Neon Steeple, appeals to listeners of almost any genre. I don’t know how he does it. How he can combine fast strumming banjo with electronic dance baffles me. Yet, somehow, he makes it sound amazing. In “My Beloved,” the uplifting lyrics about being taken away to the promised land, accompanied with the banjo reminds me of the old gospel music my dad listens to. He includes a few modern worship songs. You can expect music leaders in churches to adopt these tracks into their song lists. Then, some of the electronic dance songs on Neon Steeple resemble the style of The David Crowder band. Fans of the late David Crowder band will love that component.

Within his unique style, Crowder shares the Gospel with his audience. His message is for the lost, weary and the wanderer. By coming to Christ, they will be alive, have light and love. Several of the songs call out to the lost. He tells the “lost in sin” with “no way to stay” to hear Jesus’ call, and pray in “Jesus is Calling.” Many of the tracks address the weary soul. This world of sin wearies our souls. Crowder lets us know that we can find love in Christ. In “Come as You Are,” he says, “Oh wanderer, come home. You’re not too far.” A couple of his songs let the wanderer know that they can always return. He says in “Lift Your Head Weary Sinner” that you can “come stumbling in like a prodigal child.” We have all strayed in our walk with God. No matter how far we stray, or what completely uncharacteristic things we do, Jesus always has his arms open to us. In fact, he chases after us, as Crowder says in “You Are.” Crowder begs God to return him back to where he used to be in “This I Know.”

In return for your heart, Jesus gives you freedom and a new life. In Romans 6:11, it says, “So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus.” Crowder speaks of that aliveness throughout, as he does about lightness. In “My Beloved,” he sees the light and thanks God. He says, “forever light, forever free.” The biggest theme I noticed listening to Neon Steeple is love. 10 out of the 12 songs has the word “love” in it at least once. Every single person in this world needs love. Jesus is the love that sets us free.

Crowder’s Neon Steeple amazed me. He has a crazy, awesome style and shares the Gospel message. I love it! It’s a must have for any music library.

Released: May 27, 2014 (Sparrow Records)

Track Listing:

  1. Neon Intro (:35)
  2. My Beloved (4:25)
  3. I Am (4:07)
  4. Come Alive (3:15)
  5. Lift Your Head Weary Sinner (Chains) (3:45)
  6. Come As You Are (4:50)
  7. Hands Of Love (5:09)
  8. Jesus Is Calling (2:06)
  9. My Sweet Lord (4:03)
  10. This I Know (4:05)
  11. Ain’t No Grave (3:42)
  12. You Are (3:32)
  13. Here’s My Heart (6:58)
  14. Steeple Outro (1:27)

14 Tracks, 51:59

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

No Comments

Leave a Reply